miraclenoob.blogg.se

Vw navigation rns 310 update
Vw navigation rns 310 update








vw navigation rns 310 update
  1. #Vw navigation rns 310 update how to#
  2. #Vw navigation rns 310 update update#
  3. #Vw navigation rns 310 update utorrent#
  4. #Vw navigation rns 310 update upgrade#
  5. #Vw navigation rns 310 update full#

WARNING: There is a real possibility you will lose all your map data and music files on the HDD – make sure you have a map DVD available to reload your maps, unless you are happy to worry about that later!Īfter my unit rebooted I was curious to see if my maps and music on the hard disk had survived the upgrade process. With a bit of luck, everything will go smoothly! When it starts updating you’ll just have to leave it for about 1 hour. Then it’s just a case of being patient, letting it reboot several times and following the prompts. If it doesn’t power up then press the on/off button. I put the CD-R with the firmware on it straight into the RNS 510 and it powered up and started to read the disc. Open the car up but do not put the key into the ignition.

#Vw navigation rns 310 update update#

Now there is a magic button combination you can press to get the unit into software update mode (Setup + Eject + Info/Mic – top right hand button next to the DVD slot) – I didn’t actually need this (not until later anyway) but it’s handy to know. I didn’t actually need it it in the end, but it sure helps calm the nerves knowing that it’s out there. Well, turns out there is a recovery ISO that can help fix an RNS 510 if the firmware upgrade fails. So what was I going to do if it all went tits up? I work in IT, and whenever you do anything in IT you ALWAYS have a back-out plan. So now I had the firmware all burnt and ready I was itching to give it a go… but wait! All the advice I have read states that the RNS 510 optical drive can be a bit fussy, so best to burn at the slowest speed you can. I’m sure you could use Nero or some other burner and burn it slower if you wanted. My laptop came with CyberLink Power2Go, which is a very basic burner, but it worked fine for me. It’s small enough that it will fit onto a CD-R, no need to waste a DVD-R! I burnt the ISO at the slowest speed my burner supported, which was 10x.

#Vw navigation rns 310 update utorrent#

You can get the download links from his site, but I’ll reproduce the links here, note that these links could go dead at any time:Īfter downloading, I used 7-Zip to unzip and merge the three files together into a single ISO image.Īn alternative is to try and download it from BitTorrent, here’s a torrent file you can try (you will need to unzip it to extract the torrent file then use something like utorrent to process the torrent file and start the download). I decided to go for firmware 5238, this also includes the video-in-motion (VIM) hack that stops the DVD player cutting out when you drive faster than 5mph. > There are no exceptions to this, no matter what anybody else says. > You can update directly to 5238 with no need for an update in between.

vw navigation rns 310 update

> You can always use firmware 5238 on any device from 2005 to October 2013 (with HDD). Everyone can use firmware 5238 and newest maps

#Vw navigation rns 310 update full#

The chap here makes some pretty bold claims about which version of firmware works with with hardware revision, and the forum is full of people asking in broken English if it will work with their unit. I found a really useful web site at gpsunderground here. A high-risk strategy, and I would only encourage you to take it if you are prepared to take the risk! So I was struggling at the first step, I had no idea which hardware/firmware revision I was running.įortunately, I found a web site that was quite encouraging and convinced me to take the plunge anyway. It seems that on older firmware versions this hidden menu is not available. To access the hidden menu, simply press the setup button for around 10 seconds and a radio service menu should appear with a menu option called “Version info” – unfortunately, on my unit this did not work. I opted for the second option, I really didn’t want to have to pull the unit out.

vw navigation rns 310 update

You can find out the specific hardware revision by a) taking the unit out of the dash and looking for the part number or b) using a secret hidden menu. There are various different versions of RNS 510 along with multiple different versions of firmware, so it seemed like a good first step was to work out what I had. Determine which revision of hardware/firmware you are running So having successfully updated both the firmware and maps on my unit I thought I would write a guide to summarise, in one place, how I did it.įirst I will describe how I did the firmware upgrade, then I will move on to how I updated the maps.ġ.

vw navigation rns 310 update

#Vw navigation rns 310 update how to#

I also read that newer versions of firmware also provided additional features, bug fixes and performance improvements, obviously! So I started doing a lot of googling and reading and found a wealth of information spread all over the place about how to upgrade both the firmware and maps on the RNS 510. I was starting to find the maps on my RNS 510 were getting a bit out of date, after all I had never updated it since I purchased the car in 2009.










Vw navigation rns 310 update